An incredibly old member of the wheat family. Spelt it thought to have formed as a natural hybrid of Emmer wheat and a wild form of wheat. Used now as a speciality grain for people that are looking for a healthier option. Although Spelt does contain gluten, certain people with coeliac disease are able to eat spelt without ill effects. This is a winter crop and will need to be planted in Feb-early April so that the plants get away nicely before the winter frosts come.